1Ocular
Ocular IQ Home Solar
92.3/ 100
- Solar and load management25.0 of 25
- Install fit for older homes20.0 of 20
- Safety built in13.5 of 15
- App and OCPP15.0 of 15
- Warranty and local support6.8 of 10
- Price12.0 of 15
- Single-phase
- 7.2 kW
- Three-phase
- 22 kW
- Cable
- Tethered (5 m) or socket
- Excess solar
- Built in, CTs included
- Load management
- Built in through CTs
- App and OCPP
- Ocular Smart Home app; OCPP 1.6J and 2.0.1
- DC fault detection
- Yes, 30 mA AC and 6 mA DC
- IP rating
- IP55
- Warranty
- 3 years
- Price
- $1,195 (7 kW tethered) at EVSE Australia
- Sold through
- EVSE Australia and Ocular installers
- RCM evidence
- RCM listed on datasheet
Strengths
- Excess solar charging and load management are built in, with CTs in the box.
- Supports OCPP 1.6J and 2.0.1, the newest version in this comparison.
- Sold in tethered and socket versions, both rated 22 kW on three-phase.
- RCM is listed on the datasheet, and Ocular is an Australian brand.
Watch-outs
- OCPP 2.0.1 needs a firmware upgrade.
- IP55 rather than IP65.
- Three-year warranty; Ocular's FAQ says installers must be Ocular trained to keep it.
- No list price from Ocular; the price shown is a retailer's.
Best for: Solar homes and strata buildings that want built-in load management and OCPP at a mid-range price.
Ocular product page
2Autel
Autel MaxiCharger AC Single
89.5/ 100
- Solar and load management17.5 of 25
- Install fit for older homes20.0 of 20
- Safety built in12.0 of 15
- App and OCPP15.0 of 15
- Warranty and local support10.0 of 10
- Price15.0 of 15
- Single-phase
- 7.4 kW
- Three-phase
- 22 kW
- Cable
- Tethered (5 m) or socket
- Excess solar
- With optional CTs
- Load management
- Optional CT kit
- App and OCPP
- Autel Charge app; OCPP 1.6J and 2.0.1
- DC fault detection
- Yes, 30 mA AC and 6 mA DC
- IP rating
- IP65
- Warranty
- 5 years
- Price
- $968 (7 kW) at JET Charge
- Sold through
- JET Charge
- RCM evidence
- Not published
Strengths
- Supports OCPP 1.6J and 2.0.1.
- Built-in 30 mA AC and 6 mA DC fault detection.
- Tethered and socket versions, rated 22 kW on three-phase.
- $968 for the 7 kW model, the cheapest here after Tesla.
Watch-outs
- Solar charging and load management both need optional CT accessories.
- The five-year warranty is offered through JET Charge, the Australian distributor.
- The tethered model is IP65; the socket model is IP54.
- Zecar's guide positions the AC Single for workplaces and small strata sites rather than single homes.
Best for: Strata lots and homes that want OCPP 2.0.1 and a long warranty at a low price, and are happy to add CTs for solar.
Autel AC Single at JET Charge
- Solar and load management25.0 of 25
- Install fit for older homes20.0 of 20
- Safety built in15.0 of 15
- App and OCPP13.5 of 15
- Warranty and local support6.8 of 10
- Price9.0 of 15
- Single-phase
- 7 kW
- Three-phase
- 22 kW
- Cable
- Tethered or socket
- Excess solar
- Built in, CT clamp supplied
- Load management
- Built in (grid current limit)
- App and OCPP
- myenergi app; OCPP 1.6J
- DC fault detection
- Yes, 6 mA DC; Type A RCD still required
- IP rating
- IP65
- Warranty
- 3 years
- Price
- $1,545 socket, $1,595 tethered (myenergi)
- Sold through
- myenergi Australia online shop and installers
- RCM evidence
- AS/NZS declaration of conformity
Strengths
- Excess solar charging is built in, with a CT clamp in the box.
- Load management is built in through the grid CT.
- OCPP 1.6J support for third-party platforms.
- Sold in tethered and socket versions, both rated 22 kW on three-phase.
- IP65 enclosure and a published AS/NZS declaration of conformity.
Watch-outs
- Costs more than most chargers here at $1,545 for the socket version.
- Three-year warranty, against four or five years from Tesla, Evnex and Autel.
- myenergi's Australian install guide still calls for a Type A RCD on the circuit.
Best for: Solar homes that want surplus charging and load management without buying extra hardware.
myenergi product page
- Solar and load management25.0 of 25
- Install fit for older homes11.0 of 20
- Safety built in13.5 of 15
- App and OCPP7.5 of 15
- Warranty and local support8.4 of 10
- Price12.0 of 15
- Single-phase
- 7.4 kW
- Three-phase
- Not offered
- Cable
- Tethered, 5 m cable
- Excess solar
- Built in on Core and Plus
- Load management
- Built-in overload protection
- App and OCPP
- Evnex app; OCPP not supported
- DC fault detection
- Yes, 6 mA DC
- IP rating
- IP55
- Warranty
- 4 years
- Price
- $1,099 Core ($799 Flex without solar)
- Sold through
- Evnex Australia online and installers
- RCM evidence
- AS/NZS 3820 supplier declaration of conformity
Strengths
- Excess solar charging and overload protection are built in.
- Four-year warranty.
- $1,099 for the solar-capable Core model.
- Australian website and a Sydney office.
Watch-outs
- Single-phase only; three-phase needs Evnex's separate X-series.
- OCPP only links to Evnex's own cloud, not to third-party platforms.
- Tethered only, with a 5 m cable on the Core (8 m on the E2 Plus).
- The $799 E2 Flex needs a paid upgrade for solar charging.
Best for: Single-phase solar homes that want built-in solar charging at a lower price and do not need OCPP.
Evnex product page
5Fronius
Fronius Wattpilot Flex Home 22
72.8/ 100
- Solar and load management17.5 of 25
- Install fit for older homes17.0 of 20
- Safety built in12.0 of 15
- App and OCPP13.5 of 15
- Warranty and local support6.8 of 10
- Price6.0 of 15
- Single-phase
- 7.36 kW
- Three-phase
- 22 kW
- Cable
- Tethered, 6 m cable
- Excess solar
- Needs a Fronius smart meter
- Load management
- Needs a Fronius smart meter
- App and OCPP
- Solar.wattpilot app; OCPP 1.6J
- DC fault detection
- Yes, 20 mA AC and 6 mA DC
- IP rating
- IP66
- Warranty
- 3 years
- Price
- $1,848 at EVSE Australia
- Sold through
- EVSE Australia and Fronius installers
- RCM evidence
- Not published
Strengths
- IP66 enclosure, the joint highest rating here.
- OCPP 1.6J and the Solar.wattpilot app.
- Switches between one and three phases to follow solar output.
- Fronius has an Australian office in Tullamarine, Victoria.
Watch-outs
- Solar charging needs a Fronius smart meter, plus a Fronius inverter or a Smart Meter IP.
- Dynamic load management needs a Fronius smart meter and an internet connection.
- Tethered only, with a 6 m cable.
- At $1,848 it is one of the dearer chargers here.
- Fronius says an upstream RCD is still required.
Best for: Homes that already run a Fronius inverter and smart meter.
Fronius product page
6Wallbox
Wallbox Pulsar Max
72.3/ 100
- Solar and load management17.5 of 25
- Install fit for older homes17.0 of 20
- Safety built in10.5 of 15
- App and OCPP13.5 of 15
- Warranty and local support4.8 of 10
- Price9.0 of 15
- Single-phase
- 7.4 kW
- Three-phase
- 22 kW
- Cable
- Tethered, 5 m or 7 m
- Excess solar
- With a Wallbox meter
- Load management
- Dynamic needs a Wallbox meter
- App and OCPP
- Wallbox app; OCPP Yes (version not stated)
- DC fault detection
- Yes, 6 mA DC
- IP rating
- IP55
- Warranty
- 3 years
- Price
- $1,659 (7.4 kW) at Energy Outlet
- Sold through
- Energy Outlet
- RCM evidence
- Not published
Strengths
- Built-in 6 mA DC leakage protection.
- OCPP support and the Wallbox app.
- Rated 22 kW on three-phase.
Watch-outs
- Solar charging and dynamic load management both need an external Wallbox meter.
- Wallbox no longer runs an Australian website; the AU address redirects to the global site.
- Australian listings we found are tethered only.
- The datasheet does not state which OCPP version it supports.
Best for: Buyers who want a compact charger and are happy to add a Wallbox meter for solar charging.
Wallbox product page
7Sigenergy
Sigen EV AC Charger
71.8/ 100
- Solar and load management15.0 of 25
- Install fit for older homes20.0 of 20
- Safety built in12.0 of 15
- App and OCPP13.5 of 15
- Warranty and local support6.8 of 10
- Price4.5 of 15
- Single-phase
- 7 kW
- Three-phase
- 22 kW
- Cable
- Tethered (5 m) or socket
- Excess solar
- Needs a SigenStor system
- Load management
- Needs a Sigen Power Sensor
- App and OCPP
- mySigen app; OCPP 1.6J
- DC fault detection
- Yes, 30 mA AC and 6 mA DC
- IP rating
- IP65
- Warranty
- 3 years
- Price
- Not published (SolarQuotes estimates about $1,200)
- Sold through
- Krannich Solar and Sigenergy installers
- RCM evidence
- Not published
Strengths
- Built-in 30 mA AC and 6 mA DC fault detection.
- IP65 enclosure.
- OCPP 1.6J and the mySigen app.
- Tethered and socket versions, rated 22 kW on three-phase.
Watch-outs
- Solar charging only works with a SigenStor system.
- Load management needs a Sigen Power Sensor.
- No published list price; SolarQuotes estimates about $1,200.
- Three-year warranty, from a company founded in 2022.
Best for: Homes with, or planning, a SigenStor battery and inverter.
Sigen EV AC Charger datasheet
8Tesla
Tesla Wall Connector Gen 3
65.9/ 100
- Solar and load management7.5 of 25
- Install fit for older homes17.0 of 20
- Safety built in10.5 of 15
- App and OCPP7.5 of 15
- Warranty and local support8.4 of 10
- Price15.0 of 15
- Single-phase
- 7.4 kW
- Three-phase
- 11 kW
- Cable
- Tethered, 7.3 m cable
- Excess solar
- No solar mode in the charger
- Load management
- Needs a Tesla-approved meter
- App and OCPP
- Tesla app; OCPP not supported
- DC fault detection
- Yes, Type A with 6 mA DC
- IP rating
- IP55
- Warranty
- 4 years
- Price
- $799 at Bunnings ($800 from Tesla)
- Sold through
- Tesla online shop and Bunnings
- RCM evidence
- Not published
Strengths
- Lowest published price in this comparison at $799.
- Type A RCD function with 6 mA DC detection is built in.
- Four-year residential warranty from Tesla.
Watch-outs
- No solar mode in the charger itself. Tesla's solar charging runs through a Powerwall and a Tesla car.
- No OCPP, so strata schemes and third-party energy apps cannot manage it.
- Dynamic load management needs a separate Tesla-approved meter.
- Tesla's Australian page lists 11 kW on three-phase, lower than most chargers here.
- Tethered only, with a fixed 7.3 m cable.
Best for: Tesla households on a single-phase supply that want a low-cost charger and do not need solar charging or OCPP.
Tesla product page
9Schneider Electric
Schneider Charge
65.7/ 100
- Solar and load management7.5 of 25
- Install fit for older homes20.0 of 20
- Safety built in10.5 of 15
- App and OCPP13.5 of 15
- Warranty and local support5.2 of 10
- Price9.0 of 15
- Single-phase
- 7.4 kW
- Three-phase
- 22 kW
- Cable
- Tethered (5 m or 7 m) or socket
- Excess solar
- Not built in
- Load management
- Needs an anti-tripping module
- App and OCPP
- Wiser Home app; OCPP 1.6J
- DC fault detection
- Yes, RDC-DD 6 mA
- IP rating
- IP55
- Warranty
- 2 years
- Price
- $1,606.30 (7.4 kW, 7 m cable) at Sparky Direct
- Sold through
- Sparky Direct and electrical wholesalers
- RCM evidence
- Not published
Strengths
- Built-in RDC-DD with 6 mA DC detection.
- OCPP 1.6J and the Wiser Home app.
- Tethered and socket versions, with 22 kW on the three-phase socket model.
- Schneider has offices in every Australian state.
Watch-outs
- No built-in excess solar charging.
- Load management needs a separate anti-tripping module.
- Two-year warranty, the joint shortest here.
- No published list price; a 7.4 kW tethered unit is $1,606.30 at Sparky Direct.
Best for: Homes on three-phase that want OCPP and a charger from a large electrical brand, without solar charging.
Schneider Charge at Sparky Direct
- Solar and load management7.5 of 25
- Install fit for older homes17.0 of 20
- Safety built in15.0 of 15
- App and OCPP7.5 of 15
- Warranty and local support5.2 of 10
- Price4.5 of 15
- Single-phase
- 7 kW
- Three-phase
- 22 kW
- Cable
- Tethered, 6 m cable
- Excess solar
- Needs a GoodWe inverter
- Load management
- Not listed on the datasheet
- App and OCPP
- SEMS app; OCPP not supported
- DC fault detection
- Yes, Type A with 6 mA DC
- IP rating
- IP66
- Warranty
- 2 years
- Price
- Not published (SolarQuotes estimates about $850)
- Sold through
- GoodWe Australia and solar installers
- RCM evidence
- RCM marking in manual
Strengths
- IP66 enclosure, the joint highest rating here.
- Built-in 6 mA DC fault detection.
- RCM marking shown in the operating manual.
- Rated 22 kW on three-phase (GW22K-HCA).
Watch-outs
- Solar charging needs a GoodWe inverter.
- No load management listed on the datasheet.
- No OCPP; it uses GoodWe's own protocol.
- Two-year warranty, the joint shortest here.
- No published list price; SolarQuotes estimates about $850 for the 7 kW model.
Best for: Homes that already have a GoodWe inverter or battery.
GoodWe product page